Skip to main content

Public Collections

This guide provides an overview of the Public Collections that are freely available in Artstor and Shared Shelf Commons

Binghamton University Art Museum: Gil and Deborah Williams Collection of American Art

The Gil and Deborah Williams Collection of American Art features artwork, mostly works on paper, that were created by artists largely in the twentieth century.

Bucknell University: Samek Art Museum

The Samek Art Museum's collection is comprised of over 5,000 objects from many cultures and from all over the globe. This significant university resource is primarily the result of bequests and gifts.

With holdings that range from ancient objects created before the common era to contemporary art from the twenty-first century, and art from Europe, North and South America, Africa, China, Japan and the Pacific Islands, th is research field serves the university community across disciplines. The collection continues to grow with the addition of fine historic and contemporary art.

Cornell: Selections from the Anthropology Collections

The Anthropology Collections at Cornell University trace their origins to the founding of the university as "an institution where any person could find instruction in any study." This required a museum and collections to support student and faculty scholarship, and objects that were part of the original University Museum remain in the Anthropology Collections today, augmented by additions to enhance teaching and research possibilities. Today the full Collections consist of over 20,000 objects, covering the full course of human history from the Lower Paleolithic to the present.

These selections from the Anthropology Collections include approximately 1000 items, chosen to provide access to some of our more interesting materials and to materials that are not commonly available otherwise. These include archaeological materials (Danish Neolithic and European Bronze Age tools; prehistoric Amazonian ceramics; Precolumbian textiles from Peru; a collection excavated from a slave cabin in Georgia) and ethnographic collections (early 20th-century Filipino pieces, collected by missionaries and soldiers; Yir Yoront (Australian aboriginal) items and Hmong (Thailand) clothing and textiles, collected by Lauriston Sharp; Ndembu (Zambia) masks and costumes, collected by Victor and Edith Turner).

Lawrence University Wriston Art Center Galleries Collections

The mission of the Wriston Art Center Galleries is to strengthen Lawrence University's liberal arts education and outreach by stimulating thought, inspiring creativity, providing insight, and inviting contemplation by students, faculty, staff, and the community through interaction with the original works of art and cultural objects that the galleries exhibit and collect. This collection includes images of artwork held in the Wriston Art Center Galleries Collections. Artwork includes ceramics, coins, drawings, paintings, prints, and sculpture which are museum quality, have significant cultural and historical value, and are suitable for the educational and schola rly activities.

Michael C. Carlos Museum Collections Online

The collection of the Michael C. Carlos Museum of Emory University spans the globe and the centuries. Housed in a distinguished building by renowned architect Michael Graves, the Carlos maintains the largest collection of ancient art in the Southeast with objects from ancient Egypt, Greece, Rome, the Near East, Asia, and the Americas. The Museum is also home to collections of nineteenth and twentieth century sub-Saharan African art and European and American works on paper from the Renaissance to the present day.

Middlebury College Museum of Art, Vermont

The Middlebury College Museum of Art is an integral educational and cultural component of Middlebury College in Middlebury, Vermont, closely linked to the educational mission of the College. As such, the Museum's collection of more than 3,000 objects is diverse and aims to be encyclopedic, ranging from ancient European, Near Eastern, and Asian art to contemporary paintings, prints, sculpture, and photography.

The Middlebury College Museum of Art was established in 1968 as the Christian A. Johnson Memorial Gallery. A gift of the Christian A. Johnson Endeavor Foundation, it was one component of the then new Christian A. Johnson Memorial Building devoted to art and music. In 1989 the College began construction of the Center for the Arts (now the Kevin P. Mahaney Center for the Arts), a 100,000 square foot space for galleries, offices, classrooms, and performances, including the new Museum. With the opening of the new facility, and to acknowledge the increased support for the visual arts from numerous alumni and friends, the Gallery was renamed the Middlebury College Museum of Art.

The mission of the Museum is to enable visitors to understand more fully the artistic achievements represented by a diversity of cultures. Works from the permanent collection and special loan exhibitions are on display throughout the year, and the Museum regularly sponsors lectures, gallery talks, films, and school programs. The Museum also maintains the College's collection of works of public sculpture sited in various locations around the campus.

NHIA: Underground Gallery Photography Collection

This collection contains photographic prints donated by Norbert Kleber, photographer and founder of The Underground Gallery in New York City. Included are works by George Tice, Gerry Uelsmann, Ann Parker, Arthur Tress, Fred Picker and Neal Slavin. The collection was digitized and described by Kevin Hale, a New Hampshire Institute of Art student, during the 2016 fall semester.

Rice University: BeMA Collection

The Beirut Museum of Art (BeMA) collection consists of paintings, works on paper, sculptures, photographs, and mixed media created by artists from Lebanon and the Levant.

Seattle Art Museum Libraries: Annual Exhibitions of Residential Architecture, 1950-1980

Starting in 1950, the Seattle Art Museum featured tours and exhibitions of residential architecture. These tours featured architecture ranging from traditional and classic homes from the turn of the century to modern architecture designed by nationally and locally prominent architects. The tours visited many neighborhoods of Seattle, providing access to homes of prominent Seattleites and art collectors. The general public were invited into gated communities and private enclaves, welcomed, and served tea and cookies. The tours continued until 1980. This collection consists of digitized brochures, photographs, and clippings related to this interesting program.

Seattle Art Museum Libraries: Annual Report Collection

This collection consists of digitized and born-digital annual reports and other financial and strategic documentation issued by the Seattle Art Museum from 1933 to the present. Early reports are characterized largely by founder and director, Dr. Richard E. Fuller's frank, conversational discussion. Later reports, although not as editorial, are filled with director and board president reports, departmental and committee reports, acquisition details, programming notes and details about exhibitions -- all which contribute to a solid understanding of the Seattle Art Museum.

Seattle Art Museum Libraries: Ex Libris Collection

This collection is one of the Seattle Art Museum Libraries' hidden collections. Rather than a bona fide bookplate, or ex libris, collection, these works were all found in books in the libraries' collections. These little gems, which in some cases, are works of art themselves, give us information about ownership, purpose, and the long journey some books made to eventually reach Seattle.

Seattle Art Museum Libraries: SAM Next Publications

SAM Next was a series of exhibitions held at the Seattle Art Museum between 2008 to 2012. Its focus was emerging local, national, and international artists. This collection contains the brochures from that exhibition series.

Seattle Art Museum Libraries: William Lautz, the Seattle Ceramic Society and the Seattle Art Museum

The Bullitt Library at the Seattle Art Museum holds a collection of photographic and documentary materials related to gallerist/dealer William Lautz, the Seattle Ceramics Society, and the porcelain collections of the Seattle Art Museum. Little is known about Lautz and the Seattle Ceramics Society. Further, little about this period of collecting at SAM is accessible for scholarly purposes. This collection, which will grow over time, provides exciting new research opportunities.

Trinity College Art Collection

The mission of the Trinity College Art Collection is to support teaching using original works of art, to preserve works of art entrusted to the Trustees of Trinity College, and to document and make such works accessible for study to students, faculty and the public.

Assembled largely from gifts by alumni and other donors, the Trinity College Art Collection spans a diverse range of objects and time periods. Represented primarily by individual permanent collections, holdings encompass more than 4,000 objects.

Included are 14th-16th Century European paintings from the Samuel H. Kress Foundation Study Collection, 18th-19th Century Japanese woodblock prints from the Philip Kappel Collection of Prints, Trinity College Presidential Portraits, the Edwin Blake Memorial Collection, the George Chaplin Collection, and the Edith A. Graham Collection of Haitian Art.

Selections from the Collection are on view in public buildings throughout campus

Wofford College: Fine Arts Collection

Wofford College's Fine Arts Collection consists of approximately 1,200 artworks, many of which are of historical and cultural import. Acquired from the College's foundational days in the mid-nineteenth century to the present, it has served as a valuable resource to enhance scholarly research and cross-disciplinary teaching at Wofford College and beyond. The collection includes 300 works (an almost complete collection) of American Southern artist Julia Elizabeth Tolbert (1911-1978), over 200 East Asian decorative arts objects, portrait paintings, Eastern European paintings, and other items, all providing various pedagogical uses.