Skip to main content

Public Collections

This guide provides an overview of the Public Collections that are freely available in Artstor and Shared Shelf Commons

Nebraska Wesleyan University Forum Speakers 1986-1995

The Nebraska Wesleyan University Forum series highlights famous guest speakers on campus from the 1980's through the 1999's. For more information, please contact the Cochrane-Woods Library.

open-access library of images. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images. Institutions that subscribe to Shared Shelf, a web-based software solution for digital collections. Images and media from Shared Shelf Commons can be viewed, downloaded, and shared with anyone on the open web. New open-access collections are added frequently, so check back often to see the latest.

Brooklyn College VHS Activism

VHS Activism is based on collections of VHS tapes linked to themes like AIDS and Activism. Over the course of her career, Prof. Alexandra Juhasz collected hundreds of VHS tapes by film artists out of the mainstream of cinema. In some cases, these films are not commercially available. This collection is designed to bring together the digitizations of the tapes themselves with student-driven annotations, as well as records and references in other media, such as reviews, websites, and study guides. This project is part of the OER Pilot Project at Brooklyn College.

Hartwick College - Buddhism in the Catskills Video Recordings

This collection includes twelve video recordings of a series of talks given at Hartwick College in Oneonta, NY as part of a semester long conference of exhibitions, speakers, demonstrations, performances and films in the Fall of 2000 entitled Buddhism in the Catskills. The conference was sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities, Hartwick College, the Foreman Creative and Performing Arts Series and the Upper Catskill Community Council of the Arts. These video recordings help to document the growing importance of the Catskills as a regional center for Buddhism.

Access to this collection is made possible by support from the Council of Independent Colleges and The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Hartwick College - Campus Visitors Audio and Visual Recordings

Hartwick College - Economics Department Collection

Tuskegee University Archives: The Chapel Collection

This project, entitled Addressing the Un-Addressed: Tuskegee University's Hidden Audio Collections, 1957-1971, includes speeches given by important Civil Rights leaders and events. These audio files highlight people and organizations that were instrumental in promoting the modern Civil Rights Movement. They not only fill in historical gaps, but provide insight into the relationships between important Civil Rights leaders and their constituents.

UC San Diego Library Digital Collections

Digitized versions of selected collections covering topics such as art, film, music, history and anthropology.

UC San Diego Library Travelogue Collection

These travel films contain historical, social and anthropological information dating from 1940 through 1980 and were shot mainly in the United States but also include extensive footage of Europe and Asia as well. The collection comprises both the private histories of home movies and the public record of travel films and is an important source of information for the researchers in the humanities and social sciences.

University of Rhode Island: The Senatorial Papers of Claiborne Pell, 1960-1997, Audio Collection

The Senatorial Papers of Claiborne deBorda Pell consists of the records of the Senator and his staff. These files cover the 36 years Pell served as a United States Senator from Rhode Island, beginning in 1960 and ending in 1997. Select audio cassettes and audio reels have been digitized and made available in this digital collection. Original materials are held in the University of Rhode Island Archives and Special Collections.

University of Rhode Island: The Senatorial Papers of Claiborne Pell, 1960-1997, Audiovisual Collection

The Senatorial Papers of Claiborne deBorda Pell consists of the records of the Senator and his staff. These files cover the 36 years Pell served as a United States Senator from Rhode Island, beginning in 1960 and ending in 1997. Select broadcast films, VHS tapes, and 16mm films have been digitized and made available in this digital collection. Original materials are held in the University of Rhode Island Archives and Special Collections .

CCNY Science Animation

Animations produced by the bio-animation group at the City College of New York to aid biology faculty members in delivering class instructions. These self explanatory videos will enhance the learning experience of the students leading to better comprehension of the subject.