Skip to main content

Shared Shelf Commons

This guide provides an overview of the collections that are freely available in Shared Shelf Commons at www.sscommons.org

Cornell: Images from the Cornell University Library Map Collection

This collection consists of digitally reproduced images of paper maps from the Cornell University Library's Map Collection. Included are maps from locations around the world, ranging in date from the nineteenth century to the present. While this collection will continue to grow, it will still only represent a fraction of the 300,000 maps, atlases, and other forms of geospatial data that make up the Map Collection. Located in Olin Library, the Map Collection is open to the public. Inquiries can be sent to olinmaps@cornell.edu

Cornell: New York State Aerial Photographs

This collection consists of a series of historical aerial photographs of the state of New York. Counties represented include Cayuga, Cortland, Onondaga, Seneca, Tompkins, and Wayne. Photographs range in date from 1938 to 1991 (varies county to county). The collection was produced under a Cornell University Library Faculty Grant to Eugenia M. Barnaba, Program Leader, Resource Inventory Cornell Institute for Resource Information Sciences.

Cornell: Persuasive Cartography: The PJ Mode Collection

This is a collection of "persuasive" cartography: maps intended primarily to influence opinion - to send a message - rather than to communicate geographic information. The collection reflects a variety of persuasive tools: allegorical, satirical and pictorial mapping; selective inclusion or exclusion; unusual projections, graphics and text; and intentional deception. Maps in the collection address a wide range of messages: religious, political, military, commercial, moral and social.

Gettysburg College - Map Collection

Maps from Special Collections and College Archives, Musselman Library, Gettysburg College.

Rice University: Brasilia Iconography

This collection features views, maps, and plans -from iconographic, cartographic, and architectural archives- of Brazil's Federal District and its capital city, Brasilia.

UD Library: Atlas of the State of Delaware

D.G. Beers Atlas of the State of Delaware, printed in 1868, provides a unique view of most of the towns in Delaware at the time of the Civil War. The maps are notable for displaying not only roads and geographic landmarks long since vanished but also identifying buildings and property owners at the time the maps were produced.

UD Library: Historic Map Collection

This digital collection, drawn from the Historic Map Collection in the Special Collections Department of the University of Delaware Library, includes several hundred sheet maps representing Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, New York, Virginia, West Virginia, and Washington, D.C.; and 4 atlases of the state of Delaware. The digitized maps are from the 17th through 20th centuries, and include transportation, regional, municipal, manuscript, and historical maps; and nautical charts of Delaware Bay.

UD Library: Incorporated Towns of Delaware (1959)

The Incorporated Towns of Delaware atlases were produced by the Delaware State Highway Department, later the Department of Transportation. The three volumes were produced in 1959, 1968 and 1989 and depict the road systems throughout the state and its towns and cities. Some maps included other physical features such as parks or buildings.

UD Library: Incorporated Towns of Delaware (1968)

The Incorporated Towns of Delaware atlases were produced by the Delaware State Highway Department, later the Department of Transportation. The three volumes were produced in 1959, 1968 and 1989 and depict the road systems throughout the state and its towns and cities. Some maps included other physical features such as parks or buildings.

UD Library: Incorporated Towns of Delaware (1989)

The Incorporated Towns of Delaware atlases were produced by the Delaware State Highway Department, later the Department of Transportation. The three volumes were produced in 1959, 1968 and 1989 and depict the road systems throughout the state and its towns and cities. Some maps included other physical features such as parks or buildings.