Skip to main content

Public Collections

This guide provides an overview of the Public Collections that are freely available in Artstor and Shared Shelf Commons

Field Guide of Biodiversity Images

The Electronic Field Guide Project's Image Collection is a set of biodiversity images used for teaching and research needs mainly by scientists in Massachusetts and the northeastern United States, gathered and diseminatedunder the auspices of the University of Massachusetts Boston, a public research institution.

Hamilton College: Geosciences Rock Collection

The samples in this collection were acquired by Hamilton College faculty, students, and alumni over the past 200 years. Some were purchased from dealers, but most were collected by Geoscience Department faculty for use in the classroom. The samples cover the broad spectrum of igneous rocks, from kimberlites and carbonatites, to syenites and welded tuffs. There are two distinct components to the collection: The first is a systematic collection of the various types of plutonic and volcanic rocks. The second component consists of ~ 20 suites of rocks, each collected from a well-studied igneous province (e.g. Hawaii, Yellowstone, etc.). The primary goal of this database is to make the collection more easily accessible to the Hamilton College and local communities for broader educational use.

Martin Methodist College Marine Biology Collection: Red Sea

This collection of marine images taken in the Red Sea, off the coast of Jordan, has been compiled and made available through the Martin Methodist College Science Department to enhance the teaching of marine biology and other related disciplines.

Martin Methodist College Marine Biology Collection: Trinidad

This collection of marine images taken in and around Trinidad has been compiled and made available through the Martin Methodist College Science Department to enhance the teaching of marine biology and other related disciplines.

Martin Methodist Marine Biology Collection: Key Largo

This collection of marine images taken in and around Key Largo has been compiled and made available through the Martin Methodist College Science Department to enhance the teaching of marine biology and other related disciplines.