Skip to main content

Public Collections

This guide provides an overview of the Public Collections that are freely available in Artstor and Shared Shelf Commons

Cornell: John Clair Miller Collection

The John Clair Miller Collection is comprised of photographs, drawings, plans and elevations of executed projects and competitions that the architect undertook between 1962 and 2007. Projects include the Church of the Holy Spirit (1965), the Sagan Residence (1972), and the Malott Hall Addition (1975). Also included in this collection are his collage works composed of international ephemera.

MIT: Mohamed Makiya Archive

Mohamed Saleh Makiya is an Iraqi architect and urban planner. Dr. Makiya established Makiya Associates in Baghdad in 1946 and was one of the original founders of the Department of Architecture at the College of Engineering, Baghdad University in 1959. His firm opened offices in several countries and worked on residential, religious, commercial, and urban planning projects in the Middle East and Persian Gulf. In 2012, the Aga Khan Documentation Center (AKDC) at MIT acquired his archive, which documents his prodigious career and includes a range of materials such as correspondence, project notes, proposals, sketches and drawings, and photo documentation.

This collection includes selected digitized 35mm slides from the archive, including photographs, drawings, and plans documenting a variety of projects both built and unbuilt in areas of the world that have seen much change, destruction, and development since the time Makiya was working there.

Additional information and further digitized content from the archive can be found on Archnet.

Rice University: Rio de Janeiro Iconography

This collection contains historical maps, architectural plans, and views from different media (i.e., sketches, water colors, paintings, lithographs, photography, panoramas) created by artists visiting or resident in the city of Rio de Janeiro from 1502 to the present. The collection is linked to the imagineRio project of Rice University.