Skip to main content

Librarian's Guide to Artstor

Artstor: A resource for all disciplines

The Artstor Digital Library contains more than just art images. Collections cover photojournalism, indigenous cultures, architecture, history, religion, literature, and more, making Artstor Digital Library an incredible resource for the Humanities. 

Artstor offers many resources to help you inform faculty and students across departments about the wealth of image content available to them in the Digital Library, including:

  1. Outreach materials and suggestions for students and faculty (pre-written emails, helpful links)
  2. Materials for your library website (images and banners for promoting Artstor, blurbs describing the database)
  3. Training offerings

Library Website Materials

Use these logos and blurbs to promote Artstor on your E-Resources page and more.

Download an Artstor poster for printing

Download here.

Describing Artstor

"The Artstor Digital Library is an image database of 2 million images from 300 of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists." 

"The Artstor Digital Library is a database of 2 million images for use in the humanities. Comprised of nearly 300 collections from museums, archives, scholars, and artists, the Artstor Digital Library makes available high-qualities images for download, along with tools for exporting images into PowerPoint and creating citations."

Images for your Website or LibGuides

We’ve made available a number of images for you to use freely to promote Artstor Digital Library to faculty, students, and other users. Use these images on LibGuides, your website, and more. Feel free to crop, adjust the colors, overlay text, or edit in any other way. 

      

      

      

   

Promoting Artstor to Students

Great for getting humanities students started in Artstor, these one-page subject guide handouts highlight relevant collections, unique interdisciplinary content, search strategies, and search terms that greatly aid discoverability across twenty-two subject areas in the Digital Library. You can print these and give them to instructors to share with students, hand them out during library orientation and instruction sessions, or leave them out in the library. You can also link to them on subject specific sites and LibGuides.

Highlights are listed below; view the entire list of subject guides here: http://www.artstor.org/content/subject-guides

  • Maps and Geography
  • American Studies
  • Asian Studies
  • Latin American Studies
  • Native American and Indigenous Studies
  • Religious Studies
  • Women's Studies
  • History of Medicine and Natural Science

Materials for Instructors

Artstor offers many resources instructors may find useful:

1. Curriculum Guides offer selected images for teaching curated by experts in their field. Each guide includes a course syllabus outlining topics and themes, a set of images for each theme, and a description of how the images can be used in that course. Topics include:

  • British Romantic Poetry
  • Colonial Latin America: From First Encounters to Independence
  • Gender in Restoration and Early Eighteenth-Century Literature
  • Gothic Literature
  • The Coffeehouse: English Literature and the Culture of the Public Sphere, 1660-1740

Go to Teaching Resources > Curriculum Guides to see more.

2. Surveys cover many topics, including periods, cultures, and themes in art, social studies, and the humanities. These image groups provide 100 suggested images for each area of focus, and are a great place to get started looking for images. Some examples include:

  • Cities and Urban Planning
  • Islamic Art
  • Ancient Art in the Near East and Egypt
  • Modern Art: Europe and the Americas, 1900-1945
  • Narrative in Art
  • History of Medicine and Natural Science
  • Music History

Go to Teaching Resources > Surveys to see more.

3. Case Studies showcase how educators are using Artstor Digital Library images in research and teaching.

  • A Shakespeare Gallery
  • Architectural Solutions to Climate Problems in the Islamic World
  • Burial in Renaissance Florence
  • REPRESENT: Women Artists in the Western Tradition

Go to Teaching Resources > Case Studies to see more.