Skip to main content

AP® European History Teaching Resource: Introduction

This teaching resource provides curated images of works of art and primary source documents, including maps, cartoons, essays, and advertisements that correspond to the four major historical periods outlined in the AP® European History Curriculum and their related Key Concepts. The time periods and Key Concepts are taken directly from the AP® European History Curriculum Framework Concept Outline.

Access to Artstor through a participating institution is required to use these images. Contact your school librarian for more information on access.

Advanced Placement® and AP® are trademarks registered and/or owned by the College Board, which was not involved in the production of, and does not endorse, this website.

Register for an Account

You must register for an account to use many of Artstor’s features, such as downloading images, curating groups of images, and downloading groups of images to PowerPoint. Images in Artstor come from a wide range of sources, and many of them are under copyright. Registered accounts ensure that we meet our agreements with image contributors and protect their content, and also enable you to assembled personalized content like image groups.

We've recently made changes that allow anyone to view our public content without a subscription. This means that when you access library.artstor.org from outside your institution's computer network without logging in, you will only see publicly available images and you will not be able to access Artstor's 2.5 million images from the world's museums, libraries, archives, scholars, and artists. Accessing library.artstor.org from your institution's computer network will still allow you to see Artstor's protected Core Collection images. Registering for an account allows you to see all of Artstor's Core Collection images from anywhere, simply by logging in.

There are three ways to register for an Artstor account:

  1. From any computer on campus, go to library.artstor.org. The database will recognize your IP address as belonging to a subscribing institution, and grant you access automatically. From the home page, click “register” in the upper right corner and enter your information. If you are also a JSTOR user,  you may register with your JSTOR credentials if you choose. You can then use this account to log into Artstor from anywhere.
  2. Go to your library’s website and log in through your institution’s proxy. On your library’s list of databases, select Artstor. Since you are logged in through the proxy, the database will recognize your IP address as belonging to your institution and you will automatically be granted access. In the upper right corner of the homepage, click “register” and enter your information. You can now use these credentials to log in directly at library.artstor.org from anywhere.

After you have registered for an account, you will have 120 days of remote access. After 120 days you will need to log in to Artstor from a computer on campus--or through your library’s proxy--in order to reset your remote access for another 120 days.

Presenting with Artstor: An Overview

The Artstor Digital Library has a tool for automatically creating image-based PowerPoint presentations for projects, classes, and conferences. By saving images into an image group before downloading a presentation, you create a backup of the images used in your presentation in Artstor so you can download them again if needed.

Help

There are many ways to get help using Artstor:

Support site

A fully searchable site outlining all of the Artstor Digital Library's features, known issues, and technical alerts is available at support.artstor.org.

Training videos

A full list of training videos is available at www.youtube.com/artstor.

Phone support

User Services is available between 8:30 AM and 5:00 PM ET. 
Email: support@artstor.org
Phone: 888.388.3574 (toll-free) , +1 212.500.2414
Twitter: @artstorhelp

Teaching Specialist

Dana Howard's picture
Dana Howard
Contact:
212-500-2589